As my blog title probably makes clear, I’ve always been ‘into’ computers. I like them, I like what they can do, and I’ve always been fascinated with them. During my degree program, though, I decided to switch a Windows class for a Linux admin class, and I’m extremely glad I did. I learned so much about what goes on inside an operating system that makes me feel much more confident about using my computers in ways that help me.

And curiosity usually begets curiosity, so I decided I needed to learn to code more than simple shell scripts. I searched out resources, and I’ve started learning Python, a fairly simple (to learn) coding language often called a scripting language.

What’s great is that you can learn this language for free from resources all around the internet. Me, I wanted to be able to make simple games, and the two resources I went to made that really easy.

Invent With Python

The first I used was the Invent With Python series, the first book of which is called Invent Your Own Computer Games With Python. I actually skipped this book because I had a foundation in programming logic and was mostly wanting to learn some meat of the pygame module. I started with Making Games With Python and Pygame.

These books are mostly a ‘follow the pattern’ books that will get you familiar with looking at code, and it helps learn Python syntax, but I don’t feel this teaches you the language very well. For complete newbies, though, it’s not a bad start.

Learn Python The Hard Way

I discovered this book after I finished Making Games because I wanted a more fundamental understanding of the language, and this book has definition provided that.

It starts you off with the classic ‘hello’ program and works you through more complex concepts like importing modules, writing functions and classes, and programming logic including a basic Boolean algebra (Though fair warning, Python changes the rules a bit). After that, it sets you off to produce your own programs for scratch using the basics you learned through the book.

If you’d like something more than a book, they offer the video course for $29.

The last few months of learning more robust coding has been a blast, and I hope someone finds these two resources useful. Have you ever considered learning to code?

