Sometimes, I just get stuck.

Copyright Zach Klein (Licensed CY BY 2.0)

Copyright Zach Klein (Licensed CY BY 2.0)

Writing, planning, organizing. I hit a figurative wall and need to figure it out.

Today, getting stuck seems to be a minor theme in my blog adventures. One of those blogs was written by Seth Godin, and was remarkably apt. He breaks down four major reasons we might get stuck.

You don’t know what to do

This is a huge one, and one I struggled with in writing and life for a very long time. A common refrain with character building is they need to want something. More than want something, they had to strive for something so much that they’d take a chance your reader wouldn’t dare.

It’s a good lesson for life, too. We need to want something, and know what it is we want. Goal planning is remarkably important in being able to call ourselves successful. After all, how do we know success until we’ve defined it?

You don’t know how to do it

This one is always frustrating. Once the plan is developed, if we don’t know how to execute it, it’s as troubling as not having a plan at all! Thankfully, this is also fixable. Once we know what we need to do, we can learn what stands in our way. I’ve taught myself most of the skills I know. I’m sure if you look closely, you’ll find you did, too.

You don’t have the authority or the resources to do it

Here’s a common wall. At work being told you can’t do something, or an ideal personal project that needs funding (or time). I  am considering self publishing, but that requires money, even if I go the e-book route. Money is in short supply right now. So obviously, this can get in the way.

If you identify this as being in your way, it’s as simple as adding it to your plan. A few dollars a week can add up, after all.

You’re afraid

There is a common refrain in self-motivation programs that says that fear is the number one thing holding you back. I agree. Fear of many things, including success, can keep you from your goals. Even I’m afraid of what I’m getting myself into some days.

Overcoming this is something I’m afraid I can’t help anyone else with. The more I’ve experienced, the more I realize there isn’t a one-size-fits-all solution to fear. We each face our demons in our own way. The only key I’ve found is to face them somehow.

Figure out what’s holding you back, so you can get on with your dreams. Mine are falling away little by little, and I’m getting into a rhythm with my work. It’s a great feeling!

Question for you: What’s holding you back?

