I have a confession.

I’m just now reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I’ve made a significant dent in it in the last day, but I’m not finished yet.

Shock number two, this isn’t the only ‘major title’ I’ve failed to read. I had a friend recently tell me I absolutely must find copies of 1984 and Brave New World. Both things on my list, but finding copies has proven difficult.

I don’t feel ashamed for not having read these things, but it does prove difficult when things are phenomenally popular and their mark is left on the rest of popular culture. I often am one of the last to see movies, as well. That’s okay with me. Entertainment on a budget makes you give up the fast for the good.

The thing is, I think this is quite a bit more normal than most people want to give credit for. We don’t have infinite time or money, so we must choose our direction and entertainment. Some things get left behind. Some moved down the list. As a creative (and I know most of my readers are also creatives), one thing that is always worried over is audience. How many people are even interested?

The truth is, we’ll never know until it happens. Who knows how many audience members are just a little behind? If we as artists have done our jobs, our audience will enjoy our work when the find it, even if it’s four years late.

Have you ever missed a major title in any media, books, television, or movies?

