So, as I mentioned Thursday, I’m a bit behind on reading this one. It’s been a funny story, actually, as the book has traveled through every member of my family and lost before getting to me.

So, having spent the last few years without the book, and not even worried about it, I’m getting to read it now without the hysteria that surrounds Harry Potter releases (Well, except the movie, but I can handle that). It’s been pretty interesting.

So far I’ve enjoyed the story, though I feel like most of the character have changed significantly since the last book. Harry doesn’t feel like Harry to me. Not necessarily a bad thing, but it’s hurting my ability to get into the story.

As for style, I’m starting to wonder at people giving J.K. Rowling such high praise. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good book, but she abuses description. Certain things are just very well detailed and it slows down the story quite a bit. Even her action scenes seem to pause for the description to happen.

So far, I’m about half-way through now, so I can’t comment on the plot too much, yet. Here’s hoping I’m not disappointed by the end.

