I’ve not talked about the ebook revolution an awful lot, considering how much I buy into it. Really, there’s no reason to discuss it, it’s either happening or not, and the news is pretty clear on the subject.

Revolutions, while often public and world changing, need to start at a personal level. Without individuals driven to the new, there would be no revolution.

Today, I was at the local Wal-mart, and stopped in the book section. This should come as no surprise, I’m a bibliophile, even if I’m shopping cheap lately. I found no less than six books on my list on the shelves. A Song of Fire and Ice in trade paperback, 1984, and Brave New World, all for fairly reasonable prices.

I left them.

I told myself I’d check my Kindle when I get home.

I know I’m not the only one who does this. I’ve read more than one description from booksellers discussing people coming into their store, checking titles, and pulling out a tablet or e-reader and ordering the book while in the store.

This is the revolution. People want e-books. The number of people converting is growing with time. Soon, this revolution is going to turn into a singularity. The future will change so much that it won’t be recognizable from either direction.

Paper books are going to stay. They have certain advantages that e-books can’t quite match. They last longer, obviously. Except tablet only e-books, they mix media better than e-books. They don’t have any energy requirement at all.

The thing is, I don’t see the mass market trade lasting much longer. Why pay for wood pulp when I’m less likely to lose the Kindle?

What are your thoughts on the revolution?

