The other day, I began a new project. It was a project that excites me, and has a very powerful point in it. Slightly scary to me, even. While writing the first draft, though, I hit a point that I knew just wouldn’t work at all.

I didn’t delete it, but I knew I’d be back to change the information. To remix it and see if I could say it all a different way.

In another work, I was happy as could be, and since I’ve had some betas back, I know that that scene that really excited me was as good as I expected.

Together, these two events taught me something: you need to crave enough experience in what you’re doing to be able to trust your instincts. We’re wired to use these habitual shortcuts as often as possible, and allowing them to take over the rudimentary tasks (Like appraising fiction scenes) over to instinct allows us to worry about the more complex problems, like how to fix that problem when your instincts tell you it’s there.

