I’ll be totally honest and note that I didn’t hear about this until today. Speak Out With Your Geek Out is a week long celebration of geek-hood and the positive force geeks can be as a community.

Geeks Help

One of the interesting things I’ve found about geek communities is their propensity for going all in when something combines charity efforts with their obsession. The greatest example recently is the Humble Indie Bundles. A group of independent video game developers package their games together, and let the buyer pick how much they pay, and how that pay gets split among the developers, the host, and two non-profits: Electronic Frontier Foundation and Child’s Play.

They’re made millions using this model, and they’re only on the third bundle!

Community

Of course, examples in the greater world are all well and good, but one thing about geeks is it’s very individual. What one geek adores another may hate. That’s fine though! An example as I write this. There’s a group of gamers playing Magic: The Gathering only two tables away. Six people enjoying a shared experience. I don’t really like Magic myself anymore, but I’ve had a lot of experience, and spoke with these guys just a short bit ago. Even though we’re into different games, we’ve got some common ground.

In general, my specific brand of geek revolves around games as a whole. I love building communities around the love of the game. I’ve talked about cooperative games that help build cohesion. I’ve discussed traditional games that play nearly unchanged for hundreds or thousands of years. I’ve even discussed competitive games for their positive elements.

Beyond games, I love blogging, which in reality is community building. What’s the point of blogging if you’re not interacting with others?

So how about you, what’s your geek?

