So, I didn’t mention, but Friday was my 100th post! Cool and all, but that’s not what today’s blog is about.

Today, I want to discuss revisiting things you love.

Warehouse 13, one of my favorite television shoes on air right now, recently got added to Netflix. With some of my time this weekend, I started watching the first season again.

It’s been an interesting experience. I still recognize everything I loved, and the series is still fun to watch, but the emotions involved are different. There’s not that same excitement I get watching the newest episodes on Hulu. Part of it, I’m sure, is knowing what’s coming. But the rest of it is strange.

The key difference, I think, is that this isn’t Pete, Myka, and Artie as I know them now. They’re who they were before McPhearson, before H.G. Wells, before all the small adventures that revealed the characters to us and made us love them.

I think that’s a threat with going back to any TV show, movie, or book. We’ve experienced their paths and have changed with them. Experiencing again will be a different journey for us, but not for the characters.

What do you think, readers, what is it that makes going back to a great story feel different the second time?

