With the break from my school schedule I got back into the writing game. Instead of sticking with the project I was working on that I knew needed more work, I switched to a project I’ve had on the back burner for six months or so. It’s been a blast as I dig through the planning, but it’s involved in interesting ways.

Quick background, the initial idea (Not concept) for this was to approach the ‘Vampire vs Werewolf’ cliche from a new angle. I know it’s been done to death, but you never know what kind of ideas can come out of it.

So I started with ‘how I can I change my vampires?’ That was easy, vampire myth is so diverse that coming up with a new flavor just takes a little thought. Then the ‘werewolves’ were a simple process of going to the roots of lunacy.

Then I started developing my protaganist. He would be a ruler, and a vampire. (Yes, I know, totally falling for cliche!) His trouble would come from his daughter, and the peasant boy she fell for. As I expanded the conflict, I added a bunch of new characters, a deeper conflict for our vampire lord. Apparently there are vampire kings, and the vampires have replaced the British baronage, so our Vampire is a baron, with his handful of elite knights and a loyalty to a crown.

Then I stumble upon the conflict that drove him to training his daughter (His oldest child, with no sons) for taking his place. The king is dying. With this revelation, I also discover that the vampire’s most trusted warrior wants the throne if the vampire leaves, for any reason.

Then the most interesting discovery of all: My baron vampire isn’t the protagonist. He’s the antagonist, more specifically, the big boss trouble maker, for his daughter. She’s the one with the longest character arc, with the most choices to make, and the most conflict to go through. So now I write it with a new focus, a young daughter of a vampire who finds her fathers secret and has to face the decisions of dealing with the monster.

So from now on, I’m planning my stories from the antagonist’s side first, and let the protagonist assert itself through that planning.

