You’d think I’d be getting more done on Spring Break? Nope, stayed up late, played some games, vegged out.

Luckily I’ve started my game design before my brain left the building!

So I said I’d start talking about mechanics, so I’m going to start with the important thing in this case:  the cards.

When I say card driven, I don’t mean you get a hand of cards and use them to play the game, I mean quite specifically that the cards are the game.

It begins with the Dungeon. The Dungeon is going to be a specially prepared deck of cards that are flipped over one at a time to reveal the challenges of each room of the dungeon. It’s basically a stacked deck with a rising difficulty curve to keep the players pushing towards that end boss.

Each dungeon card is going to be titled: fairly mundane things like ‘narrow hall’ or ‘cavern’. It will have an effect on the encounter, be it ‘darkness’ which makes die rolls harder, or special hazards when you roll poorly.

It will also list the monsters that need to be dealt from the leveled encounter decks. In addition to fixed numbers, I’m going to include some way to simply add a number of monsters equal to the number of players. We’ll design that when we get there.

The final piece of information on the Dungeon cards is going to be the treasure roll. For now, I’ve decided to make this simple, roll one die, based on the dungeon card, and if you ‘crit’ you get one type of treasure, if you don’t crit you get another type (weaker), and if you ‘whiff’ you get nothing.

Oh, did I mention I plan on a unique set of dice for this game? Come back later to find out how the dice work.

Part 1    Part 3

