So, I’ve spent my Sunday completely ignoring the things I SHOULD be doing because of the internet coverage of the Mars Curiosity lander.

When I was young, I was one of the kids who wanted to be an astronaut. I’m a self-described “astronut.” I like the ideas of space, space travel, and the potential it gives everyone.

Now, it’s been a few years since I kept my finger on the pulse of space science, but the Curiosity Landing has proven NASA is still willing to be relevant. With their NASASocial program, they’re reaching out to the people who want to see NASA succeed, and that’s something that makes me very happy.

Now, about Curiosity, for those who AREN’T following it, here’s an animation of major parts of the mission so you get an idea of what’s going on.

The short version: This is the largest rover we’ve sent to Mars, and it had some serious challenges on getting to the surface accurately and unharmed. So the answer the folks at NASA came up with? A sky crane. Seriously, if this isn’t straight out of science fiction, I don’t know what is.

I can’t wait to find out if this mission landing is successful, and I won’t find out for about another hour, so if you want to join me, come watch the NASA Social stream!

