The Doctor shushing

Were you expecting River?

I’m going to come out and say it: I don’t care about spoilers. In fact, in many instances I’ve actively sought them out. I’ll guarantee you, my enjoyment of things doesn’t go down because of this.

Wait, but how could that be?

Let me talk about my old movie viewing habits. For a long time, there were a handful of movies I watched at least once a month. They included things like A Knight’s Tale, V For Vendetta, and at least one Star Wars film.

I continued to watch these films, over and over again, even though I could recite most of them from memory. There was something to them beyond the knowledge of them that affected my enjoyment from them.

Then there are some movies I’ve seen once, and wouldn’t watch again. I’ll admit there are films that I was told the plot, and decided not to see them, regardless of how well they were received. M. Night Shyamalan anyone?

I see dead people Sixth Sense Bruce WillisTo me, a great story is going to be worth hearing a second time. And a third. Sometimes, it’s because our own experiences color the story itself, so experience it with new eyes gives us a fresh appreciation of the story itself. So hearing a friend tell me their interpretation isn’t going to affect my experience when I get to the original.

But what about the stories in which a spoiler does affect it in the end? I honestly don’t feel ‘twist endings’ are nearly as valuable if the rest of the story isn’t worth it. To go back to M. Night Shyamalan, I liked the Village and watch it again, even knowing the secret. But that’s because the rest of the film was compelling without the secret.

What’s your opinion on spoilers? Love ’em, hate ’em, or don’t care? Let me know in the comments!

