I have three projects officially ‘open.’ A novella series, a short story, and a novel. You’d think multitasking like this would make things worse. Truth is, it’s how I keep blocks on one project from broadsiding me too hard. And it normally works! Of course, if you’ve been paying attention to my Round of Words updates, my writing has been suffering lately. Part of that is because I’ve been overly focused on the short story and trying to force it. But I also didn’t really feel like writing the other two projects either.

So what’s the solution? Well, every once in a while it’s a new plot bunny. You get an awesome idea, and it demands to see some progress immediately. Anything to move forward.

It’s kind of a neat idea, but first. . .

ROW 80 Update

Midterms this week, so I have very little free time and am focusing on test prep. I’m almost feeling ready for my Linux exam. I’ve learned some neat stuff in this class, but I really want to get to the practical stuff, as interesting as the theory is.

I’m about a third of the way through Little Brother. Enjoying it, though Doctorow kind of gets over excited about the technology and spends a long time explaining it. The characters are pretty cool, though, and the themes presented so far are pretty gut wrenching in how present they are.

Writing, a few hundred words since Thursday. But I’m getting into a plotting and planning stage again, so my word counts are likely going to be small, but the progress will be more apparent.

And I don’t think I need to update about the blogging every day thing. Still going. Even if I’ve been a bit behind the last two days.

The project is looking like it’s going to be an urban fantasy with themes about the nature of art, how far you should go to fix society, and who knows what else. Young plot bunnies are funny like that.

What’s your current opinion on new plot bunnies? (Admit it, your opinion will change by next week.) Comment below!

